a bunny stares at me

Kate Norton
1 min readJul 20, 2024

--

A bunny rabbit.
Photo by Emiliano Vittoriosi on Unsplash

Many nights

this summer
watched drug addicts

recover

I eat brownies and milk

face and neck

red

needles
electricity

burned hair

not me
not mine

leave injuries I do not regret

my cats are calm
i hear a fan

i once huffed gas

i looked at a photo album and there i was

a girl so awkwardly
dressed as a boy

so not fitted

in that giant green coat

as if to feel something loose with no other reference

not being herself

my Mom had a coat like that, she thinks

notwithstanding she had no say

what did all that homophobic, transphobic, habit-forming negativity do to keep her from herself?

nothing

like a cup filled with water and labeled as

“no water here because it is held in check”

I live. They don’t.

water spills always spills once the container breaks

Brownies taste better, not bitter, when I look at stories of recovery.

I close my eyes, and think, “I’m gonna believe you are ok.”

the internet was made for rapid normativity

like the blue balloon was neither blue nor balloon enough

still, i eat this brownie, almost gone, with a will to refrain

because I watched drug addicts recover

during the summer

so

--

--